Our mission: to unite Christians of all denominations through joint participation in social projects and prayer.

The Centretown Churches Social Action Committee (CCSAC) was started in 1967 by nine churches to respond to social needs in the Centretown area. CCSAC has undertaken many initiatives on behalf of people who are socially and economically disadvantaged in our community. Since 1978, CCSAC’s main project has been oversight of the Centretown Emergency Food Centre (CEFC). CCSAC’s mandate also includes advocacy for social justice, especially for issues relating to poverty.


CCSAC Structure

CCSAC is an incorporated registered charitable organization. It is currently comprised of twenty-three member churches, whose representatives form the Board.

Role of the Board

The CCSAC board meets monthly to:
• discuss business arising from the CEFC
• share information about individual churches’ activities and outreach programs
• plan for advocacy activities related to social justice issues
• discuss fundraising initiatives

Members of  the Board:

Blessed Sacrament Roman Catholic – Joe Courtright
Canadian Martyrs Roman Catholic – Maureen Killoran
Centretown United – Joan Fletcher
Christ Church Cathedral Anglican – Helen Teeple
Church of the Ascension Anglican – Rod Utting
Dominion-Chalmers United – Bill Giggie
First Baptist – Joyce Ivison
Fourth Avenue Baptist – Mary Mussell
Glebe-St. James United – Marilyn Hamilton
Knox Presbyterian – Kristine Burr
Member-at-large – Nancy Jonah
Quaker Ottawa Meeting – Sybil Grace
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian – Crawford Sharp
St. Barnabas Anglican – Yvonne Moses
St. Giles Presbyterian – Stan Currie
St. John the Evangelist Anglican – Henry Sawatzsky
St. Matthew’s Anglican – Elizabeth Kent
St. Patrick’s Roman Catholic – John George
St. Peter & St. Paul’s Anglican – Brad Wassink
St. Peter’s Lutheran – John Pedersen
St. Theresa’s Roman Catholic – Patricia Marsden Dole
Southminster United – Anne Whitehurst